Solitude

“You are very quite. Do you know that?”

Yes of course I know that! Thank you. I am well aware of the fact that I am, as society loves to label it, an introvert. Before starting this post I googled synonyms for the word ‘introvert’. The one I stumbled upon was ‘egoist’. So apparently introverts are egotistical and very narcissistic. I surely think that is quite an astound judgment.

I find it crazy how it is totally normal to tease people who are shy and introverted but we (introverts) can most certainly not call someone an extrovert or ask them why they talk too much. I find this very similar to the issue of weight. It is completely acceptable to tell someone they are very thin and expect them to take it as a complaint. But call someone fat and you are labelled as ‘insensitive’ or ‘disrespectful’

It is honestly such a crazy world we live in.

This brings me onto the topic of ‘Solitude’ which is something us ‘introverts’ love. I think being able to be alone is a vital thing. It is after all the only time you can reflect on who you actually are and what you stand for. Satre once said that: “If you are lonely when you’re alone, you’re in bad company.”

I added a picture of one of my favourite beaches. It is naturally my favourite because, like in the picture, there aren’t ever many people on it.

solitary beach
solitary beach
2 thoughts on “Solitude

  1. I get that teasing every now and then from my extroverted friends who don’t really understand. I don’t go out as often as they do, but when I do and I’m about to go back home, they always say stuff like “see you again in three years”. It’s a personal choice to keep to myself most of the time (and something I’m content with), and I know they’re not being intentionally mean, but I can’t help but feel a little offended anyways. =\

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

